5 Reasons To Watch The 2009 Grammy Awards


51-grammys-2-netSo the 51st Annual Grammy Award ceremony is a less than 12 hours away and I’m looking over the list of nominees, presenters and performers wondering which I’m most looking forward to seeing. 

Seeing as how at times I like drama in my award shows, I’m sure to be slightly disappointed since I won’t  get the same excitement that I would from The Source or BET award shows. 

But considering the fact that not too long ago CBS wouldn’t even air the hip hop portions of the show, I’ll take what I can get. 

Anyway, I compiled a list of things to watch out for during tonight’s show. 

1. Lil Wayne’s Acceptance Speech

If you think Weezy’s interviews are entertaining, imagine what a Grammy acceptance speech would be like. Imagine the possibility of  two, or three, or four.

He’s nominated for league leading 8 awards so conventional wisdom says he should win at least one. Get your DVR (or VCR tape decks) ready.

2. M.I.A.’s Performance

I can’t describe how (insert adjective here) “Paper Planes” is. Whatever the adjective is, the song is that times 10. I was at  Lupe Fiasco concert on Halloween and after the show was over the dj played”Paper Planes.” 

It was like another concert had broken out.

The only more interesting thing she could do is perform another song, or go Fiona Apple one us and speak about world issues.

The latter would be dope. The former — not so much

3. Swagger Like Us Performance

Even if M.I.A. doesn’t perform “Paper Planes” you’ll hear a portion of it when Jay-Z, Kanye West, Lil Wayne and T.I. perform their group smash “Swagger Like Us.”

This is pretty major considering these are arguably the four biggest names in hip hop right now and this will be their first time performing it together live. 

4. The Tribute to The Four Tops

I didn’t know about this one until I read the Grammy press release but it’s certainly worth watching. 

The Temptations are probably the more well known group of that era of the 1960’s and 70’s but I personally think The Four Tops were more talented.

One of the groups members, Renaldo “Obie” Benson, co-wrote Marvin Gaye’s “What’s Going On” which is the #4 song on Rolling Stones 500 greatest of all time list. 

The group’s only surviving member Abdul “Duke” Fakir will be on-hand. 

5. Album of The Year Award

Not since 2004 has a Hip Hop album won the album of the year award. It will be interesting to see if Tha Carter III, which was the best selling album of 2008 can stand up against the like of Coldplay and Radiohead. 

Ne-Yo’s Year of the Gentleman is also nominated and since he’s on Def Jam, I’ll count that as win for Hip Hop if he wins too.

Well, that’s that. I’ll get back at it on Monday morning

*Bonus – Here’s one of my favorite Grammy performance. 

Jay-Z w/ Linkin Park:

Leave a Reply

