Re: The Hip Hop Wars by Tricia Rose. Chapter One: Hip Hop Causes Violence


On Friday I told you all that I’m reading The Hip Hop Wars by Tricia Rose and that I’m blogging as I read it.

Basically this series is a chapter by chapter (sometimes point by point) reply to a book that I feel is a necessary conversation starter for many topics that plague our community.

Rose starts off the first chapter tackling the notion held widely by critics that hip hop causes violence.

As a member of the hip hop community which, to a larger extent, encompasses much of the young black community, I have a problem with that thought.

That problem is amplified the more I see the unnecessary violence in video games and on television go on without receiving the same type of mainstream attacks as hip hop.

Here is a line from the book I feel is crucial:

The criticism that hip hop advocates violence relies on the unsubstantiated but widely held belief that listening to violent stories or consuming violent images directly encourages violent behavior.

There is a major difference between the violence that you see on a video game like Doom and the violent stories that you may hear from an artist like 50 Cent.

Name the last real life situation where a guy was supplied with unlimited guns, unlimited ammo and a nearly unlimited life span.

Unrealistic.

I can however tell about the last situation where a guy was robbed at gunpoint. I can speak about 100 stories of kids getting killed and many pounds of drugs being sold.

Some rap lines to ponder on:

Scarface the movie did more than Scarface the rapper to me/ So that ain’t to blame for all the shit that’s happened to me

– Jay-Z

Check this video and I’m out.

Leave a Reply

