I Should Be An A&R


This isn’t an “I told you so” post. At least that’s not my intention. Either way, in a quest to find out if Mike Posner had released a video for “Drug Dealer Girl”, one of his mixtape joints from back in ’09, I noticed that his monster hit “Cooler Than Me” had gotten over 22 million views since its release.

22 million. As in 22,000,000.

Some how I took that as some sort of vindication for myself. See, back in May of ’09 I downloaded this mixtape and was immediately sold on what Posner was selling.

I still remember the first time I heard “Cooler Than Me.” I knew it was a hit. It sounded like the lead song on a soundtrack to a popular teenage movie. Just had that number one song in the country feel to it.

The original version got some pop added to it and the Big Sean verse was removed, but the base of the song is still there.

Check the live original version:

Check the single version:

Leave a Reply

